R.I.P. César

So today is just one of those days where I wish I would have stayed in bed and not had to come to work.

Last night at around 11pm, we found out that an old friend of mine suffered a stroke and passed away a couple hours later.

A little over a year ago, he was diagnosed with a serious illness which led to invasive brain surgery. He was able to overcome the disease and returned to normal activity, including playing soccer as part of the starting line up for the town team. Of course, this took some time and it came with very difficult rehabilation (speech, movement, etc.) sessions. However, roughly a month ago, the symptoms of the disease returned and in the late hours of January 15th, he suffered a stroke that would put an end to his short lived life. César was only 24 years old.

Throughout the whole thing, he had maintained a positive outlook, and just last week talked about the future and what it had in store for him. Now, he is gone.

I hadn´t talked to this friend in over a year (shortly after his operation), but the memories I have of that last summer we did share together still linger in the back of my mind. I only wished the best for him.

Now that he has left this world, I want to thank him for the memories (they are only happy ones) and extend my deepest condolences to his family and friends, and everyone that he touched while he was here with us. I hope that wherever it is he may be, that he looks down on those that loved him, and watches over us.

R.I.P César. You will be greatly missed!

Leave a Reply

